1905, September 22 – BIRTH OF JOAQUIM MORA

Composer, Pianist, Bandoneonist (Virgo) – of  mixed African descent, he was born in Buenos Aires…he began to study music at the age of 11…by the age of 16 he had graduated from the conservatory as a professor of piano and he began to play at the “La Argentina” saloon, his first gig…his first break came at the age of 18, when he was accepted as pianist for the Graciano de Leon Quartet…

***

He wrote his first tango, Viejo Barrio” in 1928…Divina, perhaps his most beautiful tango was written in 1934; many others were to follow…in 1930 he was invited to join the band that accompanied Azucena Maizani on her tour of Europe…he settled finally in Panama but in 1978, after 35 years, seriously ill, he returned to Buenos Aires saying “I was tired of feeling  myself an alien and so I have come back home”…but everything was different; his friends were no more and memories were all changed and so quietly, he returned to Panama where he passed away on August 2, 1979

_______________________________

    • Dieudonne Dang
    • September 22nd, 2010

    This is a great posting, it is nice to have an example of the many people of different origins and backgrounds who contributed to Tango.
    BTW, this is a great site…Excellent work. I would really be nice if I could receive the new daily posting as with “Wordsmith.org”.

    • You cannot imagine how much your comment means to me….thank you from the bottome of my heart…I am not sure what your comment about “wordsmith” meant…you can always subscribe to the blog and of course you will get the postings every day….but tell me what I can do…oscar

        • Dieudonne Dang
        • September 23rd, 2010

        Receiving the blog daily is what I meant, since I receive wordsmith.org everyday. Again thanks, and great work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

